Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Director of Scandinavian Studies

Associate Professor, Comparative Arts & Letters

3031 JFSB

801-422-1932

nate_kramer@byu.edu

Interests: Danish literature, Norwegian literature, European Modernism, Memory Studies. Languages: Norwegian, Danish

Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Julie K. Allen

Professor, Comparative Arts & Letters

3025 JFSB

801-422-7891

julie_allen@byu.edu

Interests: Questions of cultural identity in 19th, 20th, and 21st century Northern Europe, particularly with regard to literature, religion, silent film, and migration. Languages: Danish, German

Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Christopher "Chip" Oscarson

Associate Professor, Comparative Arts & Letters

3033 JFSB

801-422-9037

christopher_oscarson@byu.edu

Interests: Nineteenth- and twentieth-century Scandinavian literature, silent film, and the relationship between literature, film, art, and the environment. Language: Swedish

Curriculum Vitae

Scandinavian Program Coordinators

Tiina Watts

Tiina Watts

Language Coordinator

MA Second Language Teaching

Finnish Instructor

3005K JKB

tiiwatts@byu.edu

Maren E. Mecham

Language Coordinator

Graduate student, Second Language Teaching

Norwegian Instructor

3005Q JKB

marenmecham@byu.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Dr. Scott Burt

Professor, Chemistry

C414 BNSN

801-422-2404

srburt@chem.byu.edu

Teaches SCAND 329/ICLND 429: Old Norse

Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Wade Hollingshaus

Associate Professor and Department Chair, Theatre and Media Arts

D-581B HFAC

801-422-7768

wadeh@byu.edu

Publications included in Nordic Theatre Studies, Theatre Topics, Review: The Journal of Dramaturgy, Scandinavian Studies, and The Journal of Finnish Studies.

Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Sarah Reed

Assistant Professor, History

2164 JFSB

801-422-9167

sarah_reed@byu.edu

Interests: Scandinavian-American studies, German-American studies, womenʼs studies, and Mormon studies.

Curriculum Vitae

Adjunct Instructors

Victoria Hansen

Swedish 101-321 Instructor

victoria@hansenfamily.se

Michael Knudson

Norwegian 321 Instructor

mknudson3@wisc.edu

Aino Kemppainen Larsen

Finnish 321 Instructor

ainolarsen@byu.edu

Paul Jepsen

Danish 321 Instructor

Student Instructors

Thomas Wintch

Thomas Wintch

Icelandic Instructor

3002 JKB 

twwintch@yahoo.com

Naomi Hall

Naomi Hall

Danish Instructor

3002 JKB  

Naomi.hall193@gmail.com

Scandinavian Student Club Officers

Scandinavian Club president Jason Rodriguez and his wife Carol Izelo.

Jason Rodriguez

Club President

Language Café Facilitators

Language Café Facilitators run our weekly conversation lab for language students.

Kaytee Jensen

Swedish

Matthew Wallace, Icelandic

Matthew Wallace

Icelandic

Moriah Weaver Danish facilitator

Moriah Weaver

Danish

Meri Smiley

Finnish

Norway flag circle

Nicholas Applegate

Norwegian