Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Director of Scandinavian Studies

Associate Professor, Comparative Arts & Letters

3031 JFSB

801-422-1932

nate_kramer@byu.edu

Interests: Danish literature, Norwegian literature, European Modernism, Memory Studies. Languages: Norwegian, Danish

Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Julie K. Allen

Professor, Comparative Arts & Letters

3025 JFSB

801-422-7891

julie_allen@byu.edu

Interests: Questions of cultural identity in 19th, 20th, and 21st century Northern Europe, particularly with regard to literature, religion, silent film, and migration. Languages: Danish, German

Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Christopher "Chip" Oscarson

Associate Professor, Comparative Arts & Letters

3033 JFSB

801-422-9037

christopher_oscarson@byu.edu

Interests: Nineteenth- and twentieth-century Scandinavian literature, silent film, and the relationship between literature, film, art, and the environment. Language: Swedish

Curriculum Vitae

Scandinavian Program Coordinators

Tiina Watts

Tiina Watts

Language Coordinator

Finnish Instructor

3005H JKB

tiinawatts@byu.edu

Maren E. Mecham

Student and Cultural Activities Coordinator

Norwegian Instructor

3002 JKB

marenmecham@byu.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Dr. Scott Burt

Professor, Chemistry

C414 BNSN

801-422-2404

srburt@chem.byu.edu

Teaches SCAND 329/ICLND 429: Old Norse

Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Wade Hollingshaus

Associate Professor and Department Chair, Theatre and Media Arts

D-581B HFAC

801-422-7768

wadeh@byu.edu

Publications included in Nordic Theatre Studies, Theatre Topics, Review: The Journal of Dramaturgy, Scandinavian Studies, and The Journal of Finnish Studies.

Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Sarah Reed

Assistant Professor, History

2164 JFSB

801-422-9167

sarah_reed@byu.edu

Interests: Scandinavian-American studies, German-American studies, womenʼs studies, and Mormon studies.

Curriculum Vitae

Adjunct Instructors

Victoria Hansen

Swedish 321 Instructor

victoria@hansenfamily.se

Christian Tarjei Prinzt Gylseth

Norwegian 321 Instructor

Aino Kemppainen Larsen

Finnish 321 Instructor

ainolarsen@byu.edu

Paul Jepsen

Danish 321 Instructor

Student Instructors

Natalya Nielsen

Swedish Instructor

3002 JKB

nielsen.natalya@gmail.com

Icelandic flag in a circle

Thomas Wintch

Icelandic Instructor

3002 JKB

Ben Murphy

Danish Instructor

3002 JKB

Scandinavian Student Club Officers

Icelandic flag in a circle

Jason Rodriguez

Club President